In 2015 the IWN Program launched a revised Champions program to promote innovative practices, new technologies and leadership within the water industry for the benefit of our customers.

The Champions program was developed following discussions with water corporation Managing Directors who advised they greatly value the opportunity IWN presents for enhancing and up-skilling staff through their participation in IWN initiatives and programs. Leadership development is supported through a series of IWN Champion workshops and individualised development mentoring, coaching and support.

The IWN member model is unique to Victoria and is widely recognised as leading industry collaboration to drive innovation for the benefit of our customers and the environment. The role of the Champion is integral to developing innovative practices and new technologies for the benefit of the water industry.

In 2017 a number of water corporations nominated new representatives to participate in the program.  These new champions will now commence on the leadership and mentoring program.

Regional Working Groups

Each corporation has its own IWN Champion who is part of a regional working group to identify and share innovative ideas. There are four regional working groups which meet regularly through the year:

  • Eastern Region (East Gippsland, Gippsland, South Gippsland, Westernport)

  • Metro Region (City West, Melbourne, South East, Yarra Valley)

  • North-Central (Coliban, Goulburn Murray, Goulburn Valley, Lower Murray, North East)

  • Western Region (Barwon, Central Highlands, Grampians Wimmera Mallee, Wannon, Western).

Leadership development through personal development, leadership insight development, teamwork insight development, communication practice development and critical thinking in problem solving is the key focus of the IWN Champions program, supported by two IWN Champion Workshops each year.

The IWN Champions are:

Barwon Water Mehul Naik

Central Highlands Water Jess Egan

City West Water Adrian Flather

Coliban Water Deon Pearce

East Gippsland Water Andrew Harrison

Gippsland Water Fergal Rabette

Goulburn Murray Water Andrea Pogue

Goulburn Valley Water Daan Van Riel

Lower Murray Water Andrew Ryan

Melbourne Water Kevin Hellier

North East Water Jon Day

South East Water Ninad Dharmadhikari

South Gippsland Water Prith Roy

Wannon Water Erica Solum

Western Water Dean Phillips

Westernport Water Chaminda Jayasena

Yarra Valley Water James Martin